The Coptic Orthodox Church is a sacramental church. Sacraments or in Greek, “Mysterion” which means “Mysteries”, are considered to be sacred actions where believers receive an invisible grace through material or visible signs and elements. The Holy Spirit works in the church through the seven sacraments, giving us His gifts, blessings and comfort; teaching  and guiding us to the way of truth. The seven sacraments are:

  1. Baptism (when immersed in the water we die with Christ and when brought up we rise with Him, receiving the new nature)
  2. Chrismation (anointing with the Myron oil by which the Holy Spirit dwells in us)
  3. Repentance and confession (confess to God in the priest’s presence as in Joshua 7:19, receiving forgiveness)
  4. The Eucharist (the bread and wine are the true Body and Blood of Christ)
  5. Unction of the Sick (the anointing with oil by the priest for healing by the hand of God)
  6. Holy Matrimony (a union between God, the man and woman)
  7. Priesthood (the Bishop lays his hand on the elected candidate in order for the Holy Spirit to descend on this person to grant him the grace to carry out priestly duties)

All sacraments should be preceded by the sacrament of Repentance and Confession.

“But the Comforter, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you” – John 14:26

“Do not seek the perfection of the law in human virtues, for it is not found perfect in them. Its perfection is hidden in the Cross of Christ. “ – St. Mark the Ascetic

Explore Our Faith